Faculty and Research

personnel profile

Chaitan Khosla

Title:Professor; Wells H. Rauser and Harold M. Petiprin Professorship in the School of Engineering
Location:Keck 337
Mail Code:5025
E-mail: khosla@stanford.edu
URL: http://www.stanford.edu/dept/chemistry/faculty/khosla
Administrator: Carolynn Gier

Research Statement

Research interests in this laboratory lie at the interface between chemistry and biology. Assembly line enzymes such as polyketide synthases have extraordinary potential for the programmable biosynthesis of complex natural products. Our laboratory seeks to understand the mechanistic logic of assembly line polyketide synthases, and to harness these insights in order to engineer new antibiotics. The prototypical system of interest to us is the 6-deoxyerythronolide B synthase, which synthesizes the macrocyclic core of erythromycin. Other examples of antibiotic biosynthetic pathways under investigation in our laboratory include the novel anti-infective agents A-74528 and guadinomine. Celiac disease is a T cell driven autoimmune disease of the small intestine that is induced by exposure to gluten from foodgrains such as wheat, rye and barley. Our laboratory seeks to understand the earliest molecular recognition and catalytic events in the pathogenic response of the celiac intestine to dietary gluten. We anticipate that such insights will pave the way for new therapies and biomarkers for this widespread but overlooked disorder. Our present efforts are directed at testing the hypothesis that transglutaminase 2, the principal autoantigen associated with celiac disease, is also a druggable target for therapeutic intervention.

PhD 1990 California Institute of Technology
Publication TitleAuthor(s)/Speaker(s)Open Document
Structure-based dissociation of a type I polyketide synthase module Chen, A.Y.; Cane, D.E.; Khosla, C.
Human transglutaminase 2 undergoes a large conformational change upon activation Pinkas, D.M.; Strop, P.; Brunger, A.T....
The 2.7 Ã… crystal structure of a 194 kDa homodimeric fragment of the 6-deoxyerythronolide B synthase Tang, Y.; Kim, C.Y.; Mathews, I.I....
Rational design of combination enzyme therapy for celiac sprue Siegel, M.; Bethune, M.T.; Gass, J....
Inhibition of HLA-DQ2 mediated antigen presentation by analogues of a high affinity 33-residue peptide from a 2-gliadin Xia, J.; Siegel, M.; Bergseng, E....
Display All Publications

Academic Honors & Awards

  • Allan P. Colburn Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1997
  • ACS Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, 1999
  • Alan T. Waterman Award, National Science Foundation, 1999
  • ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, 2000
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2006
  • Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 2007
  • Member, National Academy of Engineering, 2009
  • Wells H. Rauser and Harold M. Petiprin Professor in the School of Engineering
  • Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, American Chemical Society (2009)
  • Member, National Academy of Engineering (2009)


  • David E. Cane, Ph.D. - Department of Chemistry, Brown University
  • Ronald W. Davis, Ph.D. - Stanford Genome Technology Center, Stanford University
  • Karol Sestak, Ph.D. - Tulane National Primate Research Center, Tulane University
  • Ludvig M. Sollid, M.D., Ph.D. - Immunology, University of Oslo
  • Bana Jabri, M.D. - Pathology, University of Chicago

Current Predoctoral—Undergraduate Institution

  • Tommy DiRaimondo (Chemical Engineering) - University of Michigan, Ann Harbor
  • Brianna Dunn (Chemical Engineering) - Cornell University
  • Jay Fitzgerald (Chemistry) - Middlebury College
  • Colin Harvey (Chemistry) - McGill University
  • Tracy Holmes (Chemical Engineering) - Vanderbilt University
  • Xi Jin (Chemistry) - Fudan University
  • Cornelius Kloeck (Chemistry) - Jacobs University Bremen
  • Brian Lowry (Chemical Engineering) - Purdue University
  • Nick Plugis (Chemistry) – Middlebury College
  • Xirui Xiao (Chemistry)
  • Xingye Yu (Chemical Engineering) - McGill University

Postdoctoral—Graduate Institution

  • Louise Charkoudian (Chemistry) - Duke University
  • Andrea Edwards (Ph.D. Chemistry) – University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Aaron May (Ph.D. Chemistry) - University of Minnesota
  • Katharine Watts (Ph.D. Chemistry) – University of California, Santa Cruz