Skip to content Skip to navigation

​Matteo Cargnello and Gordon Wetzstein win Sloan Research Fellowships

​Matteo Cargnello and Gordon Wetzstein win Sloan Research Fellowships

The fellowships are awarded yearly to 126 researchers across the U.S. and Canada.
February 21, 2018

Matteo Cargnello, assistant professor of chemical engineering, and Gordon Wetzstein, assistant professor of electrical engineering and, by courtesy, of computer science, were recently awarded Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowships for their work in chemistry and computer science, respectively. They join three other Stanford faculty members and 126 total awardees across the U.S. and Canada.

The Sloan Research Fellowships were created in 1955 by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to recognize early-career excellence in physics, chemistry and mathematics and have since expanded to include the disciplines of computational and evolutionary molecular biology, computer science, economics, neuroscience and ocean sciences. The two-year fellowships award scientific leaders with $65,000 in support of their research, and fellows are selected by a panel of their peers.

Matteo Cargnello was recognized for his work in sustainable energy generation processes. His research combines the fields of chemistry and engineering to design, synthesize, characterize and test materials for heterogeneous catalysis and photocatalysis. He is the principal investigator at the Cargnello Group and an affiliate of the SUNCAT Center for Interface Science and Catalysis, and his studies work to address pollution, greenhouse gas emissions and the sustainable production of fuels and chemicals.

As the leader of Stanford’s Computational Imaging Lab, Gordon Wetzstein’s interdisciplinary research uses graphics, machine vision, optics, scientific computing and perception to design user experiences that make invisible things visible. He was recognized for his work in next-generation imaging systems, which have a variety of real-world applications such as consumer electronics, scientific imaging, human-computer interaction and remote sensing technology.

Additional Stanford faculty recipients include Daniel Yamins, assistant professor of psychology and, by courtesy, of computer science; Julia Palacios, assistant professor of statistics and of biomedical data science; and Arun Chandrasekhar, assistant professor of economics.